the growth of enterprise pedagogy

I am not quite sure what to make of this article. What it assumes, as a basis for its argument, is that teachers have lost control of ICT and how it can be used in the classroom. This in itself is problematic, as this is an argument that I have found unsubstantiated through any of my own time as a student or as a student-teacher. ICT has always been available as and when it was needed, but never when it wasn’t integral to learning. This is most likely due to the teacher’s discretion (as examined further below), in deciding what was integral (or not so much) in students learning the curricular necessities.

Towards the end of his article, Brown asks five questions that would be appropriate for teachers (phrased as ‘a culture’) to ask themselves, which essentially boils down to ‘is ICT necessary in my class, and how am I going to use it?’ This, I believe, would have been a more effective question to answer within the article, rather than the he said/she said journalism that Brown seems to be promoting.

In answer to the question posed above, this is a question that I will constantly be asking myself throughout my time teaching. But, as with everything, this is a question that can be altered to fit with any learning area or method: ‘Is [x] necessary in my class, and how am I going to use it?’ ICT has become a tool now like any other. In my teaching area of English, [x] can mean anything from [ICT] to [novel] to [film]. Each aims to help teach in its own way.

In the end it just means that we have to adapt to new and changing times. Some ICTs will be applicable to a learning area, some may not. It is to the teacher’s own discretion whether or not they can see it working.

Before and after: Classrooms with their new technologies.

2 comments
  1. Yup, agreed…. Its a strange article, and definately a dated one.

    You’re right, I’ve not really come accross an overuse of ICT in classrooms, and I think as long as the aim constantly remains an enhancement of learning, then I don’t think we’re on a Matrix trajectory. Mind you, that could be what the ICT wants us to think.

  2. Well said Tom.
    This article was hard to take in (possibly due to how long ago it was written as well). I like your last paragraph, about having to adapt in the end because it is inevitable for teachers unless they want to stick to their stoic nature and get left behind.

    We really have our work cut out for us don’t we?

Leave a Reply

